Sacramento (pop.~467,000 in 2010) is the capital of California and the government seat of Sacramento County. The city encompasses approximately 100 square miles and is located at the confluence of the Sacramento River and the American River, in the northern region of California's Central Valley.

This area is also known as the Sacramento Valley. The city serves as an anchor for the Greater Sacramento Area, which includes the following eight counties: Sacramento, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba (all in Northern California), and Douglas County, Nevada.

The total population of this combined metropolitan statistical area is approximately 2 million.

You may also be interested in...

Edited/Contributed by: John C. Derrick
Published/Updated on: 12-23-2018

Terms of Use

The use of this website is your expressly conditioned acceptance of the terms, conditions, and disclaimers found within our Disclaimer of Warranty and Limitation of Liability page without any modifications. Your use of this website constitutes your acceptance of all the terms, conditions, and disclaimers posted herein. If you do not agree with any part of these terms and conditions, you should not use this website.